COLUMBIA MONTESSORI SCHOOL
2019-20 School Calendar


First Semester

August 23 Friday Last Day of Summer Camp ~ Ice Cream Social

Dismissal for all students at 1:00 PM

No PM Daycare

Aug. 26 – 30 Monday – Friday Teacher Preparation Week

School and Daycare Closed

August 30 Friday Open House – 11:00 a.m.

Children & Parents Visit Classrooms

September 2 Monday Labor Day
School and Daycare Closed
September 3 Tuesday First Day of School
September 20 Friday Parent Meeting 7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
October 18 Friday Montessori Classes in Session

Daycare Available

October 24 & 25 Thursday & Friday Early dismissal~ 12:00 noon ~ all classes

Parent conferences begin at 1:00 pm

Daycare Available

November 27 – 29 Wednesday-Friday Thanksgiving Holiday

School and Daycare Closed

December 13 Friday Holiday Program

Last day of Montessori classes in 2019

Dec. 16 – 23 Monday – Monday Winter Break

No Classes, Daycare Available

Dec. 24 & 25 Tuesday & Wednesday Christmas Holiday

School and Daycare Closed

Dec. 26 – 30
Thursday – Monday Winter Break

No Classes, Daycare Available

 Dec. 31
Tuesday New Year’s Holiday~School and Daycare Closed

Second Semester

January 1 Wednesday New Year’s Holiday

School and Daycare Closed

January 2 Thursday Classes Resume
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day

No Montessori Classes

Daycare Available for those under contract

 

February 3 – 14 Monday – Friday Pre-registration deadline for summer

and fall enrollment

February 13 – 14 Thursday & Friday Early Dismissal ~ 12 Noon ~ All Classes

Parent Conferences begin at 1:00 PM

Daycare Available for those under contract

February 17 Monday President’s Day

No Montessori Classes

Daycare Available for those under contract

 

April 6 – 9 Monday – Thursday Spring Break

No Montessori Classes, Daycare Available

April 10
Friday Good Friday Holiday

School and Daycare Closed

April 13 Monday Classes Resume

 

May 8 Friday Early Dismissal ~ 12 Noon ~ All Classes

PM Teacher’s meeting

Special Person Night  7:00 – 8:00 PM

Children invite a special person to school

May 21 – 22 Thursday & Friday Early Dismissal ~12 Noon~ All Classes

Daycare Available

Parent Conferences begin at 1:00 PM

May 25 Monday Memorial Day

School and Daycare Closed

May 27 Wednesday Graduation Program at Slayton House
All children arrive by 6:45 PM
June 5 Friday Last Day of Classes ~ School Picnic

1:00 Dismissal~all students, No PM Daycare

June 8 Monday Summer Camp Begins

The State Board of Education requires 170 educational days for the implementation of the educational program for Kindergarten and First Grade. This School Calendar is based on 175 school days for Full Time, Kindergarten and First Grade students. Day Care is available for those under contract for snow days, professional days and holidays. We close the School and Day Care for major holidays and these additional days:   November 27 & 29 ~December 24 & 31 and April 10. ~ There are five built-in inclement weather days.

This Calendar is part of the School Contract